You are here:   News
Register   |  Login

News

Minimize
04

EXPERT CHATS


Selective Mutism Group

Childhood Anxiety Network


Date: Tuesday May 19, 2009


Time:

9:00 PM Eastern Standard Time

8:00 PM Central Standard Time

7:00 PM Mountain Standard Time

6:00 PM Pacific Standard Time


Please RSVP at
www.selectivemutism.org/resources/expert-chat-overview
by Monday May 18, 2009 in order to participate.

Participation in Expert Chats is a member benefit,
if you would like to become a member so you can join us - register on line at
www.selectivemutism.org/membership/join-smg/join-smg-page-1


Our Featured Expert for May is......


Dr. Vera Joffe, Ph.D.



Dr. Joffe's practice is mostly based on treating children with neurodevelopmental disorders, including ADHD, Tourette's Syndrome anxiety, mood disorders, Asperger's Syndrome, and other anxiety disorders such as Selective Mutism, Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, and Social Anxiety. A frequent speaker on the topic of SM, Dr. Joffe recently presented at the 2008 American Psychological Association and the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry conferences. She has written three books, which are about Asperger's Syndrome, Selective Mutism, and a book on Adult ADHD. Her book titled, "Sophie's Story: A Guide to Selective Mutism", can be found at Amazon.com. She works with children and families, consults with schools, hospitals, and is a professional board member of CHADD.



She uses cognitive behavior therapy for SM. However, the approach is more complex with interviews of parents, visits to the school (to observe the child), consults with the school, and interventions at school, with the family, and at the office.


In addition to participant's questions, Dr. Joffe will be answering the following questions during the chat:



  1. My child is going to a day camp this summer. She does not know anyone. Should she go? I need to work and I don't know what is the best thing to do. What should I do?


  2. What is the best plan for my daughter with S.M. for summer? Should she stay at home and not go to camp?


  3. My son is going to a sleep away camp. IN the application forms, they ask if my child has any mental health problem. Should I write something about him having selective mutism?


  4. School is almost over. Should I have special requests for next academic year? What kind of teacher should my daughter with S.M. have for next year?


  5. My child was diagnosed with S.M. during this academic year. We had a meeting at school, and the teacher was nice enough to make some accommodations that we asked. However, no paper work was done, and I don't know what kind of teacher she will have next year. Can I do anything about that?